Catholic 10 Commandments

The Catholic 10 Commandments

You are probably here to check if the Catholic Church removed a commandment or just want to use a Catholic version of the 10 Commandments, or perhaps out of curiosity, whatever your purpose, you are in the right place! In this blog post, we will explore the Catholic 10 Commandments.

The Catholic 10 Commandments

  1. I am the Lord thy God, thou shalt not have any strange gods before me.
  2. Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain.
  3. Remember to keep holy the Sabbath day.
  4. Honor thy father and thy mother.
  5. Thou shalt not kill.
  6. Thou shalt not commit adultery.
  7. Thou shalt not steal.
  8. Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.
  9. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s wife.
  10. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s goods.

The Catholic Church lists these commandments in a specific order, which is slightly different from other versions. The first three commandments focus on the relationship between God and humans, while the remaining seven focus on the relationship among humans.

Understanding the 10 Commandments is essential for Catholics who wish to live a life in accordance with their faith. The Catechism of the Catholic Church explains the importance of each commandment and provides guidance on how to live your life guided by these principles.

In the New Testament, Jesus Christ summarized these into 2 simple and straightforward commandments:

To love God and love your neighbor.

He said to him, “You shall love the Lord, your God, with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind. This is the greatest and the first commandment. The second is like it: You shall love your neighbor as yourself. The whole law and the prophets depend on these two commandments.”

Matthew 22:37–39

Living the Catholic Faith

The Catholic 10 Commandments are not just a set of rules, but rather a guide that leads to a fruitful and fulfilling life. They serve as a moral code, helping you to understand what is right and wrong. By following these commandments, and incorporating them into your daily life, you can strengthen your relationship with God and others around you.

It is important to note that no one is perfect and we all commit mistakes. Aside from guiding us, the Catholic Church also emphasizes the importance of forgiveness and redemption. It always encourages us to go back and repent. When you fall short of the commandments, confess your sins, seek forgiveness, and make a commitment to do better. This is a powerful way of strengthening your faith and deepening your relationship with God.


As Catholics, we must always strive to follow these 10 commandments. The list serves as our guide in our daily lives. It reminds us to live a holy life, following Him who created us. Although temptations and sins can get in the way, God through His Church will always be there to forgive and accept us. It is always up to us since we are given freedom.

Loving Mother, pray for us.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *